Georges Seurat 1859-1891 (France) Impressionism & Post Impressionism

My first initial thoughts when I saw his paintings was kind of like this…OH MY GOD I FOUND HIM! THAT WAS HIS NAME??? I FINALLY FOUND HIM!!!!! *Fireworks go off in the distance* I did not know Seurat’s name nor did I know that the name of his famous painting was called “A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte.” So basically, for the longest time I’ve been pretty clueless—until today. Soooo happy I found him…anyways…

Seurat was a post-impressionist painter and draftsman who is best known for his innovative use of pointillism and chromoluminarism. His paintings were composed of tiny little multi-colored dots, which from farther away allowed the viewer’s eye to blend the colors together instead of having to physically blend in the paint on his canvas. He is best known for his work “A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte,” which he started in 1884 and took two years to complete. This was his first major exhibited work and it received many mixed emotions when it went on display such as curiosity, praise, apprehension, and revulsion. Many people criticized his painting because when they would view the painting up too close, all they would be able to see were dots and this would leave them utterly confused in which as a result, most people ended up calling the piece “messy” or “fuzzy.” Society did not see Seurat’s new form of art in the same way that his fellow artists and colleagues did. Part of Seurat’s inspiration came from his feelings of abandoning Impressionism, although some of his work clearly shows a few approaches to Impressionism.

I guess what really intrigued me when I first saw his work is the colors he ended up developing onto his final piece by using just points. I tried to do something once by just using points and it drove me nuts. I think his technique and patience towards this form of art is incredible and that it’s the reason which drove me to love his work so much. I would’ve loved to see more of his work but unfortunately he died at a young age before he could develop more paintings. It was not until later when people started to notice his true worth and skill in using his paints in order to create optical blending of colors.

Sources:
– http://www.artble.com/artists/georges_seurat
– https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georges_Seurat
– http://www.theartstory.org/artist-seurat-georges.htm

Leave a Reply

